DomainsNext Makes Harassing Calls

Some moron claiming to be associated with DomainsNext.com called me at home at 10:00 p.m., just a few minutes ago, claiming that I had written something about the company here on RR… Despite my assurance that I’d never written anything about them and that I had instead focused on their affiliate company, the infamous ItsYourDomain.com, he threatened me with ambiguous consequences that I was required to remove all references to DomainsNext.com by morning.

I don’t think so!

Despite his barely understandable Middle Eastern accent, he has to have some sense of what America is all about. One of the many great things about America is that even if I had written about DomainsNext.com I have the full right to say whatever I believe in. And I allow my visitors to say whatever they believe within their comments.

Hey, Abdul, Mohammed, Ahmed, or whatever the FÙÇK your name was — since you didn’t bother to say and you hid like a coward behind a cloak of anonymity — ever heard of the right to free speech? I have; it’s provided to me by the First Amendment of the United States Constitution, and I choose to exercise it to the fullest extent. The quotes and comments made by others stay.

If you had bothered to study my write-up of ItsYourDomain.com, you would have noticed that the mention of DomainsNext.com (”one of [ItsYourDomain.com's] resellers, DomainsNext.com, is also a source of constant consumer complaints”) was quoted and attributed directly to dnjournal.com. I didn’t write that. I quoted it from another source. You got a problem with what they said? Take it up with them. Even if I had written it, you don’t have the right to make harassing phone calls and attempt to blackmail me into removing what I wholeheartedly believe is factual information.

Given this day and age, I’d think you’d be trying to give the section of the world you immigrated from a more positive image. Instead, you’re giving whatever country you came from a bad name. You need a lesson in Americana; treat your customer with respect, honor, and dignity, and you will get the same in return. The way you are acting, you are no different from the terrorists despised the world over, using intimidation and threats to bully others into cowering at your feet. Take your terrorist actions elsewhere. I will not take them from a deranged Playmate, and I certainly won’t put up with them from you.

You fear the truth. A visitor to RR…, Arpad, commented that he spent months trying to get his domain away from ItsYourDomain and DomainsNext. I believe him. You have a problem with that? Provide better customer service, and you won’t have as many complaints. Better yet, don’t associate yourself with a company known for hijacking domain names.

Arpad mentioned participating in a class-action lawsuit against the two companies. Let’s add making harassing phone calls to their modus operandi. Oh, and if anyone else at DomainsNext is stupid enough to make additional harassing phone calls — you and I are both located in California, which makes litigation and prosecution against you REALLY easy. I’d advise you to forget about any plans for continued harassment you may have.

Sleep well and ponder:-)

UPDATE: The guy called again at 10:45 p.m. and spoke of more than just ambiguous consequences. This time he threatened to “call every minute of every day”, said that he would post our personal information on pørn websites all over the Internet, and stated that he would come to my home in Santa Clara to “deal with me” — all illegal and/or litigatable actions, and not covered within the confines of Free Speech. (Is there some kind of manual that these cyber-idiot-stalkers follow?!) Not surprisingly, once again, the coward would not provide his name. He admitted leaving the comment on my website from IP address 68.5.52.70 at 10:00. (Note that my server’s clock is one hour off from PST, so it shows 9:00 p.m.). Oh, and at the end of the short conversation he laughingly stated that he was going to call the police on me!


UPDATE: The guy claimed that there were no other bad comments about DN on the Internet except for mine, and then he proceeded to attempt to educate ME on how to use Google.

Needless to say, I found these within seconds, man, seconds…


UPDATE: Turns out that one of my early guesses was pretty close. The same guy who owns domainsnext.com also owns domainnext.com, universaldomains.net, mydiscountdomains.com, mrsdomains.com, egyptdomains.com, theerealty.com and webstreetrealty.com. The guy’s name is Mansour Mohamed El-Seify, a broker licensed by the California Department of Real Estate. The broadband IP address served up by Cox Communications that was used to leave the comment on my website is issued to El-Seify. Don’t forget, Mansour, that your real estate license may be suspended or revoked if found guilty of “a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude”, and it doesn’t have to involve a real estate transaction or your brokerage. Threatening that you’ll drive the 388.02 miles (according to MapQuest directions from your home to mine) in order to “deal with me”, and making continued harassing and threatening phone calls are both defining examples of moral turpitude. Go away.

If you liked this, you might also be interested in:

Responses

9 Responses to “DomainsNext Makes Harassing Calls”

  1. Response #1
    Sean (IP) on August 27th, 2004 at 8:27 am

    Y’know, it really takes the fun out of poking if you insist on doing it yourself.

  2. Response #2
    Sean (IP) on August 27th, 2004 at 8:40 am

    Google: “domainsnext service”, and you come up 5th (of over 6600); “domains next comments”, 3rd (of 125); “domainsnext complaints”, 2nd (of 38); “domainsnext praise”, uh, not listed. (But then, there are only 2 listings…) Shame you don’t know how to use Google to get your pages higher in search results…

    California Penal Code Section 422 states,

    “Any person who willfully threatens to commit a crime which will result in death or great bodily injury to another person, with the specific intent that the statement, made verbally, in writing, or by means of an electronic communication device, is to be taken as a threat, even if there is no intent of actually carrying it out, which, on its face and under the circumstances in which it is made, is so unequivocal, unconditional, immediate, and specific as to convey to the person threatened, a gravity of purpose and an immediate prospect of execution of the threat, and thereby causes that person reasonably to be in sustained fear for his or her own safety or for his or her immediate family’s safety, shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail not to exceed one year, or by imprisonment in the state prison.”

    Their intentions don’t matter. Whether they ever really meant to carry out any threat is irrelevant. It’s whether YOU take it seriously.

  3. Response #3
    richard on August 27th, 2004 at 9:34 pm

    Unfortunately, in this day and age, with suicide bombers, terrorist hijackings, religious zealots, and general unrest, I am relunctantly forced to take any threats received very seriously. If I receive more threats from this individual I will notify local police, Orange County police, the DRE, the FBI, and Homeland Security in order to ensure the safety and well-being of my wife and children. The sad thing is that, up until now, I have never said anything about or to this guy or his company before he called me up in the middle of the night. It was a completely disrespectful, undignified, un-called-for, and senseless act on his part. - RDL

  4. Response #4
    Doyle (IP) on October 20th, 2005 at 10:09 am

    I suggest you track down Mansour Mohamed El-Seify and deal with him. As in open up a can of whip ášš and deliver it.

  5. Response #5
    Mark (IP) on July 12th, 2006 at 6:37 pm

    Richard,

    Whatever happened with DomainsNext? I have plenty to tell you. Get back to me if you can. Is there a way to gather the name of other users who also have complaints against this clown?

    Thanks Mark

  6. Response #6
    Joe Ventura (IP) on May 23rd, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Well who owns ITSYOURDOMAIN.COM?
    I need to deal with them!

  7. Response #7
    Dan (IP) on December 5th, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    I just registered this name with domainsnext yesterday at a friends suggestion. With what I’ve read here I’m wondering what I’ve gotten myself into. Went back in tonight to start building my site and eventually ended up at richard’s ramblings. Should I try and get my name away from this clown?

  8. Response #8
    richard on December 6th, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    Switch. Now. Unless you’re OK with terms of service that have ridiculous things like:

    “Five days prior to expiration, your domain will be placed on hold status, in preparation for release. This will result in websites and email not resolving for those 5 days. After this period, should you fail to renew or cancel your domain name registration by the expiration date, your domain name registration shall AUTOMATICALLY EXPIRE and you shall lose all rights in and to the expired domain name… DomainsNext.com may, in its sole discretion, reinstate your domain name registration upon its receipt of the registration or renewal fee and a US $200 reinstatement fee.”

    I’ve switched all 50-something of my domains over to GoDaddy. Cheap, good tools, great service, amazingly fast DNS updates, awesome communication. Haven’t had a single unresolved problem with them in the several years since I switched over. Couldn’t be happier.

  9. Response #9
    richard on April 22nd, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Since the story continues on other pages, I’m closing out this page for comments. If you have anything to add, finished reading the rest of the saga, and then add your comments at the end. Thanks!