Another Threat from DomainsNext.com

I received this email from support@domainsnext.com yesterday:

On one of your published website pages, which anyone can find on your website and most search engines, anyone who reads this page can realize that you are a bigot and bigotry as you know is a crime. You said on your placeholder page “Hey, Abdul, Mohammed, Ahmed, or whatever the FÙÇK your name was — since you didn’t bother to say and you hid like a coward behind a cloak of anonymity — ever heard of the right to free speech? I have; it’s provided to me by the First Amendment of the United States Constitution, and I choose to exercise it to the fullest extent. The quotes and comments made by others stay.” You also have published personal information and used offensive language that you have promised not to use when the State of California awarded you your Notary Public seal. All indications show that your intention is to cause harm to me, my family, my business and my associates, directly or indirectly. I became a United States citizen most likely before you were born, and for you to use the First Amendment and the freedom of speech to publicize your hatred of the Arabic race is exactly what Hitler did to excuse his criminal action against the Jews in World War II. You have converted a simple phone call requesting the removal of our trademark DomainsNext.com from your web site to lies and a misrepresentation of the facts. Your Notary Public page http://zoho.org/notary/fees.html indicates that anyone can call you 24/7. You should never have that if a 10 o’clock phone call is disruptive to your life.

This has been going on for months and we cannot calculate at this time the damage you have caused us in business or personal, which could be in hundreds of thousands of dollars. Today’s email is a demand for the immediate removal of the placeholder page and any related links to that page that you or any of your associates have published or intend to publish where I or DomainsNext.com are the subject thereof. If the page(s) are not removed by said time, we will then seek all legal remedies against you and all parties related to or contributing to your action. We will also seek unspecified damage from you and all persons cooperating with you to cause us harm. DomainsNext.com is a trademark and any use of said trademark without written authorization is against the law.

You must understand that we are taking this matter very seriously and we have already filed a complaint with The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) against you.

DomainsNext.com
Owner - Mansour Elseify

First of all, the charge of bigotry is ludicrous. I have no hatred toward the Arabic race, those who practice the Muslim faith, or anyone else of any other race or religion. My initial referral to you as Abdul, Mohammed, or Ahmed was akin to treating the maker of a similarly threatening phone call from the backwaters of the American south as JohnBoy, BillyBob, or Jimbo — hardly racist or bigoted, more an admittedly juvenile sign of disrespect. Understandably, I will fail to treat those who make threats towards me or my family with respect. It’s not my fault you hid behind a cloak of anonymity. If you’d given me your name in the first place, I could have just used that instead. With your repeated harassment, you forced me to dig around and look up your real name. If you’re worried or insulted about someone refering to you as either Abdul, Mohammed, or Ahmed when you threaten them, alleviate the problem by first providing your real name!

Speaking of which, mentioning your name or profession (both of which were already published online by you!) is hardly the same thing as publishing personal information about someone. In fact, I was very careful not to include your phone number, address, or anything else of an identifying nature about you including links to such information even though that information is readily available online, a far cry from your unacceptable proposal of publishing information about my family on pørn websites. I hold myself to higher standards than that. Mentioning that your home is 388.02 miles away from mine is hardly pinpointing your front door. By being so careful, I have stayed well within the boundaries laid out by notarial law, far better than the behavior you have so far exhibited. In my own recent study of real estate law, I fail to see where it allows you to make threatening phone calls or falsely accuse others of crimes. Your actions, so far, match the sentiment of moral turpitude.

In no way is my intention to cause harm to you, your family, your business or your associates, directly or indirectly. I merely speak the truth. You have, however, indicated by your actions and threats that you intend to to cause harm to me and my family. Your phone call was hardly a “simple phone call requesting the removal of our trademark DomainsNext.com” and you know it. Having someone request an emergency notary at 10:00 PM is an acceptable use of the phone and website. Having someone threaten to “call every minute of every day” and to come to my home in Santa Clara to “deal with me” is disruptive at best.

ItsYourDomain, the folks I had the original complaint with, sent me an email after your threatening and harassing phone call stating that they were “absolutely stunned when we read the post regarding him contacting you. We apologize, and feel like this email is necessary to help address your issues, and especially to mention that we are in no way, shape, or form associated with Domainsnext other than them being a domain name reseller of ours.”

Showing just a portion of your vast ignorance, you claim that my mentioning your trademarked company name (DomainsNext) is considered “use of trademark” and is against the law. In no way have I ever attempted to use your trademark in any manner seen as confusing or deceptive. All courts regard the mentioning of a company name as free speech. In fact, while I do not intend to do so, the courts would even allow anyone the right to register, own, and maintain DomainsNextSucks.com or WebstreetRealtySucks.com, citing that use of complaint names is a pure exhibition of free speech. In fact the courts caution those who are concerned about the use of their trademarks to “carefully consider the appropriate response, which is likely to vary greatly depending on just how your mark is being used… Aggressive pursuit of some trademark uses can result in far more unfavorable attention and harm in the form of cybergriping or otherwise than the initial use did.”

It’s nice to know that the courts have already decided in my favor. You are a fool if you think I will not publish any further communication or any additional threats you make. If there is anyone harming DomainsNext it is you — doling out threats, making harassing phone calls, sending ridiculous emails as you have done does more to harm the name of DomainsNext than anything I could ever do. Keep up the good work!

If you liked this, you might also be interested in:

Responses

One Response to “Another Threat from DomainsNext.com”

  1. Response #1
    Elixir (IP) on November 14th, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Domainsnext.com is çráp. I’ve been trying to deal with them regarding a transfer issue and its like they run their business from a garage… customer support is non-existent and after reading the above, I’ve already called my lawyer regarding this domain dispute. They are nothing more than cybersquatters masquerading as resellers. Who is the resellers’ governance? We need to complain loudly and get them reprimanded if they’re still in business at all…

Contribute to the Conversation: