MAXIWEBINTRO Fraud…

Yet another fraud warning:

A charge appeared on my Citibank card on April 8 for $9.95 from MAXIWEBINTRO with a listed phone number of 253-660-0328. A quick web search revealed that the charge is a scam, a result of charges of randomly selected credit card numbers. Fortunately, after a few minutes of questioning, Citibank automatically found in my favor and permanently reversed the charge.

The $9.95 charge is a bit scary. Most people don’t go through their credit card statements carefully and probably wouldn’t notice the under-ten-dollar charge. That, and many credit card companies require a notarized statement of fraud which often costs a minimum of $10. Many might just ignore the smaller charge in favor of saving a nickel. Me, I’d spend the higher amount on principle.

I find it strange that the charge appeared on the same day that I purchased my vacation tickets from the Walt Disney Travel Company. Perhaps a wayward employee of a subcontracted company is responsible. I don’t like coincidences.

If you liked this, you might also be interested in:

Responses

57 Responses to “MAXIWEBINTRO Fraud…”

Pages:« 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

  1. Response #21
    John in Pa (IP) on August 24th, 2005 at 2:27 pm

    I had a hit today, just after I paid my balance with my bank routing number to my citibank and chace card. I think there is a trend here on citi cards and chace… I got hit with a recharge payment for a cell phone the same day.

  2. Response #22
    Bill A (IP) on August 26th, 2005 at 8:21 am

    I was hit with the same $9.95 charge by http://www.infottech.com 610-579-9414 in PA on 8/4/05. Called Bank of America and they credited the charge immediatly.

  3. Response #23
    Riceman (IP) on August 26th, 2005 at 2:28 pm

    My $9.95 was from ‘Art Magic Inc’ which was charged on 8/21. Unlike a previous poster’s experience, Wachovia was extremely responsive and helpful and did not require me to jump through any hoops. Although, I identified my complaint as fraud initially. From other blogs, it looks like this is fallout from Card Services Inc., that was compromised back in June. However, I am running on a hypothesis that the billing system(s) of one of two major American online game publishers was compromised. So far all my buddies that have played them, like me, have had this or similar charges show up recently.

  4. Response #24
    brett (IP) on August 29th, 2005 at 10:26 am

    I found this site via google after noticing a $9.95 charge on my account from “Innovative software tec.” Glad I’m not alone.

  5. Response #25
    Dave (IP) on August 29th, 2005 at 3:06 pm

    I just found one from http://www.insofttech.com for that $9.95. I get a mesage all operators are busy at the number listed, 610-579-9414. where are they getting the numbers?

  6. Response #26
    Roni (IP) on August 31st, 2005 at 12:31 pm

    They got me too! August 29th, I had a posting form this MAXIWEBINFO for 9.95. When I didn’t recognize the name, I did a google search, and when I saw this site, I was floored. I have immediately reported it to my bank Fifth Third, and they weren’t as helpful as citibank. Anyway, thanks for alerting me to this fraud.

  7. Response #27
    Mr. John (IP) on September 1st, 2005 at 11:27 am

    I got hit too. Transaction dated 8/7, amount of $9.95, from MAXIWEBINTRO 270-7783268 NJ, on my VISA card. One call to Chase bank resulted in quick resolution.

  8. Response #28
    orlanth (IP) on September 3rd, 2005 at 7:01 pm

    Thank you all for posting this information, as this helped me with my dispute against Innovative Software 610-5799414. Quite annoying that they can make charges so easily just with the debit card number. Canceling the debit card number is anooying as well. Has anyone tried to bring any law enforcement agencies into this situation?

  9. Response #29
    orlanth (IP) on September 3rd, 2005 at 7:05 pm

    Hmmm…the Innovative Software company’s web site looks legit. Perhaps someone has been purchasing their product with our debit card numbers? Still quite suspicious for Innovative software not to police their sales better.

  10. Response #30
    mike (IP) on September 6th, 2005 at 1:57 pm

    I was also falsely charged $9.95 on 8/17/05 by “Innovative Software Te 610-579-9414″. I called my credit card company and the charge was removed. Thanks for the info.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

Contribute to the Conversation: