MAXIWEBINTRO Fraud…
Yet another fraud warning:
A charge appeared on my Citibank card on April 8 for $9.95 from MAXIWEBINTRO with a listed phone number of 253-660-0328. A quick web search revealed that the charge is a scam, a result of charges of randomly selected credit card numbers. Fortunately, after a few minutes of questioning, Citibank automatically found in my favor and permanently reversed the charge.
The $9.95 charge is a bit scary. Most people don’t go through their credit card statements carefully and probably wouldn’t notice the under-ten-dollar charge. That, and many credit card companies require a notarized statement of fraud which often costs a minimum of $10. Many might just ignore the smaller charge in favor of saving a nickel. Me, I’d spend the higher amount on principle.
I find it strange that the charge appeared on the same day that I purchased my vacation tickets from the Walt Disney Travel Company. Perhaps a wayward employee of a subcontracted company is responsible. I don’t like coincidences.
I see I am not alone on this I got hit 8/18/05 for the 9.95 and have not been able to call my Credut Union that the card is under because it is not open on week ends, the phone no is the same as a bunch of others that I see on this page, this goes back into last year and they are still getting away with it.
I had charges of $9.95 appear on THREE separate charge accounts of mine, all with a transaction date of 8/14/05. Company names are INSOFTTECH, EVERGREEN ALLIANCE, and Absolute (haven’t received statement yet). It *appears* that two of my other credit cards have not been affected. The difference appears to be bogus charges on all cards that I have ever used for electronic transactions
Its hard to explain how they got these credit card numbers - either some major clear house got hacked, just for those used electronically; OR my Linux System (behind a firewall) got compromised and they are harvesting that way …
I just had the charge appear on my Bank of America online statement. Charge made today. Company name: “Art Magic Inc.com”. Stupid BOA is closed so I will be calling them first thing in the morning. Thanks to the other commenters for posting their information - I’m starting to relax a little since it seems to be randomly generated card numbers but it still pìššëš me off! Ðámn thieves.
I recieved the charge from MACROCYBERLINC on 8/29 through my Citizens Bank account, did some searching on google and found this site read through all of your posts and you all have some good information the 270-778-3268 phone# you folks got that were hit by MAXIWEBINTRO matches the phone# thats on the website http://www.macrocyberlinc.net wich claims to be a web design company. a whois.net lookup of macrocyberlinc.net shows the contact info of a gentleman in new york city. My macrocyberlinc $9.95 charge said wilmington deleware….this is all very strange
I got an unauthorized charge from Innovative software also(610-579-9414). I called the phone number but the message says the voice mailbox is full. Can’t somebody get these people shut down? It’s amazing that they can commit credit card fraud so many times and stay in business.
I was also hit by Innovative software (610-579-9414). Mail box is full and not accepting new messages at this time. I notified my credit card company immediately.
I also got hit with the bogus charge, not once but twice. One came through on my bank debit card for $9.95 from Macrocyberlinc and the other charge came through on my Capital One card from http://www.insofttech.com. I have been reading a lot of the comments that everyone has posted and agree that Amazon.com is the culprit. In fact, I filed a complaint with the BBB since it is impossible to reach anyone at Amazon.com. Amazon denies that they are at fault (as usual), but I only used both of these cards on their website. I hope this info helps others from this scam.
I also got hit on my visa for 9.95. I read somewhere that it was buy.com, amazon.com, or another site. When I went to AMAZON.COM to cancel my account, I FOUND MY 3 DIGIT CREDIT CARD VERIFICATION NUMBER UNDER MY FULL NAME FIELD!!!
Found a MAXIWEBINTRO charge from 270-778-3268 NJ on my CapitalOne cc for $9.95. I complained loudly, they canceled the charge and I canceled the card. This thread records incidents from June-October 2006. How much more is needed to warrant state and/or federal investigation? The presence of Google ads for Credit Cards call into question the credence of this quaroum.
I got hit also on Aug 29. Which really sucks because I was in the process of evacuating from Hurricane Katrina when some snake steals 9.95 from my credit card. Have yet to dispute the charge since I have been busy trying to piece the rest of my life back together.